West Europe Countries

By | February 15, 2021

Definition of Western Europe

Western Europe refers to the countries in west part of Europe continent, whereby the delimitation varies depending on the context:

  • During the Cold War, the market economy-oriented countries of Europe were referred to as Western Europe, in contrast to the planned economy-oriented countries of Eastern Europe, the Eastern Bloc.
  • Before the eastward expansion of the EU and NATO, the term was used for the countries of Europe that were members of the EU and / or NATO, but including Switzerland, which was not a member of either organization. This roughly coincided with the political Western Europe.
  • Since the eastward expansion of the EU and NATO, Western Europe in the broadest, political sense includes all European countries with the exception of Ukraine and Georgia as well as the CIS members Moldova, Belarus, Russia, Armenia and Azerbaijan. This Western Europe (apart from the smaller states, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Austria, San Marino, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Vatican City) is militarily linked to the United States in NATO and economically fully geared towards the European Union (EU).

But statisticians do not work with political concepts, but with concrete categories.

  • In the statistical classification of the United Nations, Western Europe includes: Belgium, Germany, France, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland.
  • The Standing Committee on Geographical Names (StAGN) counts the following countries in Western Europe: Belgium, France, Ireland, Monaco, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom

Countries in Western Europe

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Germany
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Switzerland

Where is Western Europe Located?

Northwestern Europe Location