Countries Beginning with A

By | February 15, 2021


Afghanistan is a landlocked country in South Asia at the interface between South and Central Asia. In response to the September 11, 2001 attacks carried out by members of Al Qaeda, a US-led coalition intervened and overthrew the Taliban government. The country’s economic reconstruction has been spectacularly successful in recent years, but the situation remains precarious due to terrorism, drug trafficking and corruption.

  • Continent/Region: South Asia
  • Languages: Pashto, Dari
  • Capital: Kabul
  • Currency: Afghani (AFN)


Albania is a country in south-eastern Europe. For many years, Albania has been in a difficult process of transformation from the formerly socialist planned economy to a modern, open market economy. With growth rates of around five percent over the past ten years, Albania has moved up into the ranks of the “middle-income countries”.

  • Continent/Region: East Europe
  • Language: Albanian
  • Capital: Tirana (Tirane)
  • Currency: Lek (ALL)


Andorra is a small state in the eastern Pyrenees between Spain and France and the largest of the six European dwarf states. Andorra is one of the so-called tax havens. A considerable number of day visitors come for the cheap alcohol and tobacco. According to the 1993 constitution, Andorra is a parliamentary co-principality.

  • Continent/Region: South Europe
  • Languages: Spanish, Catalan
  • Capital: Andorra la Vella
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)


Argentina is a republic in southern South America. The name comes from Latin and stands for silver. That is exactly what the first Spanish settlers thought they would find in the country. Until the beginning of the 50s, Argentina was one of the richest countries in the world, thanks in part to the export of beef.

  • Continent/Region: South America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Buenos Aires
  • Currency: Argentine Peso (ARS)


Along with Bonaire and Cura├žai, Aruba is one of the three ABC islands that geographically belong to South America. Politically, Aruba is part of the Netherlands. The island’s special charm is definitely its landscape. Lush cacti, aloe plants and Divi-Divi trees give around 110,000 people and an extraordinary animal kingdom a home.

  • Continent/Region: South America
  • Languages: Dutch, Papiamentu
  • Capital: Oranjestad
  • Currency: Aruba Florin (AWG)


Algeria is a state in northwest Africa and in terms of area the largest in all of Africa. Algeria is one of the richer countries in Africa in terms of per capita income. The economy is heavily dependent on the export of oil and natural gas. Thanks to persistently high oil and gas prices, Algeria has been able to record continuous growth averaging three percent over the years.

  • Continent/Region: North Africa
  • Languages: French, Arabic
  • Capital: Algiers
  • Currency: Algerian Dinar (DZD)


Angola is a state in South West Africa. With a gross domestic product of 114.2 billion US dollars, Angola is the third largest economy in Sub-Saharan Africa after South Africa and Nigeria. Angola’s economic growth is currently the greatest in Africa.

  • Continent/Region: Central Africa
  • Language: Portuguese
  • Capital: Luanda
  • Currency: Kwanza (AOA)


Armenia is a landlocked country in the Caucasus and became an independent state in 1991 after the collapse of the Soviet Union. The state is a member state of the Council of Europe and thus undertakes to promote human rights and democracy. The capital city of Yerevan is one of the oldest still inhabited settlements in human history.

  • Continent/Region: West Asia
  • Language: Armenian
  • Capital: Yerevan
  • Currency: Dram (amd)


Azerbaijan is a landlocked country in Western Asia between the Caspian Sea and the Caucasus. Azerbaijan is one of the fastest growing economies in the world. The most important mineral resource is high quality crude oil.

  • Continent/Region: West Asia
  • Language: Azerbaijani
  • Capital: Baku (Baki, Baky)
  • Currency: Azerbaijan Manat (AZN)


The state of Australia is located in the southern hemisphere northwest of New Zealand and south of Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea. Australia’s economy is among the freest in the world, ranking third on the Economic Freedom Index.

  • Continent/Region: Oceania
  • Language: English
  • Capital: Canberra
  • Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)


Due to its location on the eastern edge of the Alps, Austria is a predominantly mountainous country. About 85 percent of the area is used for agriculture and forestry. Austria has a very small-scale agriculture. This is increasingly trying to specialize in quality products, as the pressure of competition continues to increase due to the expansion of the EU.

  • Continent/Region: West Europe
  • Language: German
  • Capital: Vienna
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)