North America Capitals

By | January 20, 2021
Country Capital with number of residents
Antigua and Barbuda St John’s 21,643 (2011)
Bahamas Nassau 274,400 (refers to the entire island of New Providence,  2016)
Barbados Bridgetown 110,000 (2016)
Belize Belmopan 13,400 (2020)
Costa Rica San José 335,000 (2019)
Dominica Roseau 13,600 (2009)
Dominican Republic Santo Domingo 3.6 million (in metropolitan area,  2017)
El Salvador San Salvador 1,767,000 (2017)
Grenada St George’s 38,000 (incling Suburbs,  2014)
Guatemala Guatemala City / Ciudad de Guatemala 994,000 (without suburbs, 2013)
Haiti Port-au-Prince 2.6 million residents in the metropolitan area (2017)
Honduras Tegucigalpa 1,173,000 (2012)
Jamaica Kingston 584 600 (with suburbs, 2011)
Canada Ottawa 1 Million (2019)
Cuba Havana 2,130,000 (2017)
Mexico Mexico City about 21 million (with suburbs,  2013)
Nicaragua Managua 1,038,000 (2018)
Panama Panama City about 1,300,000 (with suburbs,  2013)
Saint Kitts & Nevis Basseterre (in Saint Kitts, with suburbs) 14 100 (2014)
Saint Lucia Castries 22,200 (with suburbs,  2014)
St. Vincent & the Grenadines Kingstown 35,000 (2017)
Trinidad & Tobago Port of Spain 37,000 (2011)
USA Washington DC 720,000 (2020)

Grenada: St. George’s

The capital of Grenada is called St. George’s. It is located on the main island in a bay in the southwest. The French christened this bay Carenage, which means fetching the keel and is the moving of ships ashore to examine or repair them. Apparently that was done here. The place stretches up the surrounding slopes. Two forts are also there, Fort George and Fort Frederick. The city has around 10,000, the entire region around 34,000.

Canada: Ottawa

Ottawa is the capital of Canada. It is located northeast of the Great Lakes. Ottawa is only the sixth largest city in the country with a population of 933,000. Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, Calgary and Edmonton have more residents.

Ottawa is located on the river of the same name. Across the river is Ottawa’s twin city, Gatineau. The native inhabitants of this area were the Algonquin people. The word Ottawa comes from their language. It means “dealer”. The Algonquin traded here on the river.

At first the city was called Bytown . It was not officially called Ottawa until 1855. Two years later, the British Queen Victoria named Ottawa the capital of the British colony Canada. It seemed more suitable to her than Montreal or Toronto because it was on the language border . When Canada became the Dominion in 1867 , Ottawa remained the capital.

Cuba: Havana

Havana is the capital of Cuba. It’s called La Habana in Spanish. Havana is located on the northwest coast and has a population of more than two million. The old town has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Many tourists come to Havana every year. The city has a special attraction with its colonial architecture and pretty vintage cars.

Mexico: Mexico City

Mexico City is the capital of Mexico. It is more in the south of the country and there in the middle, as you can see on the map. It originated on the remains of the Aztec capital , Tenochtitlan. Mexico City has a population of around 9 million, and more than 20 million people in the entire region.

The city is the political, economic and cultural center of the country. The country got its name from the city – not the other way around.

Mexico City lies in a valley. As a result, the air pollution is high and there is always a smog alarm. Far too many cars drive through the city, and the supply of drinking water and the disposal of waste are also problematic.

The Mexicans usually say “el DF” for their capital. This is the abbreviation for Distrito Federal , which translated means federal district. Mexico rather describes the country. The name is derived from the Aztecs, who called themselves Mexica .