Countries Beginning with U

By | February 15, 2021

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom is made up of England, Wales and Scotland, which together make up Great Britain, and Northern Ireland. Queen Elizabeth II has been the head of state since 1952. With around 64.1 million residents, it is the third most populous state in the European Union. In 2016, the so-called Brexit, the UK’s exit from the EU, was decided in a referendum.

  • Continent/Region: North Europe
  • Language: English
  • Capital: London
  • Currency: Pound sterling (GBP)


Uganda is a landlocked country in East Africa, the republic is also home to the Kingdom of Buganda within its borders. Above all, economic progress is going on in Uganda, growth of six to seven percent is expected in the next few years. With the upcoming oil production, it should increase again. In the export – import sector, Uganda is primarily located in the coffee and tobacco sector. As an LDC country, Uganda falls under the EU’s General System of Preferences (GSP).

  • Continent/Region: East Africa
  • Languages: Swahili, English (regional: Luganda)
  • Capital: Kampala
  • Currency: Uganda Shilling (UGX)


Ukraine is a state in Eastern Europe. With an area of ​​603,700 square kilometers, it is the largest state whose borders are entirely within Europe. Ukraine has been independent since the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991.

  • Continent/Region: East Europe
  • Languages: Russian, Ukrainian
  • Capital: Kyiv (Kiev)
  • Currency: Hryvnia (UAH)


Uruguay is a state in the southern cone of South America. It is the smallest Spanish-speaking country in South America. Uruguay’s market economy is characterized by a very large state sector – 25 percent of all employees work in the public sector and export meat.

  • Continent/Region: South America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Montevideo
  • Currency: Uruguayan Peso (UYU)


Uzbekistan is an Islamic landlocked country in Central Asia. Besides Liechtenstein, it is the only landlocked country in the world that is itself only surrounded by landlocked countries. In order to reach a state with access to an open sea, at least two state borders must be crossed.

  • Continent/Region: Central Asia
  • Language: Uzbek
  • Capital: Tashkent (Toshkent)
  • Currency: Uzbekistan Sum (UZS)

United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates are located in the east of the Arabian Peninsula. The country’s economic pillars consist of oil, natural gas, trade and, for some years now, the steadily growing tourism, especially to Dubai. Around 15 million people travel to Dubai every year.

  • Continent/Region: West Asia
  • Language: Arabic
  • Capital: Abu Dhabi
  • Currency: UAE Dirham (AED)

United States of America (USA)

The United States of America is the largest economic power in the world. With around five percent of the total world population, they produce around a quarter of all goods and also provide a quarter of all services. The US economic power is undisputed worldwide and also occupies a leading position in world trade. The USA is the world’s largest sales market for imported goods and, along with Germany, China and Japan, are among the world’s largest exporters. The main buyer countries for US goods exports are Canada, Mexico, Japan, Great Britain and Germany.

  • Continent/Region: North America
  • Language: English
  • Capital: Washington, DC
  • Currency: US dollar (USD)

U.S. Virgin Islands

  • Continent/Region:
  • Language:
  • Capital:
  • Currency: