Countries Beginning with D

By | February 15, 2021


Denmark is the smallest, flattest and most southern of the three Scandinavian countries. The parliamentary monarchy has the only land border with Germany. The kingdom consists of three parts: Denmark, Faroe Islands and Greenland. The Faroe Islands and Greenland are self-governing. Both are not part of the EU. Denmark joined the European Community in 1973 in the first round of enlargement.

  • Continent/Region: North Europe
  • Language: Danish
  • Capital: Copenhagen
  • Currency: Danish Krone (DKK)

Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is an island state on the island of Hispaniola in the Greater Antilles, between the Atlantic and the Caribbean. It covers the east and the center of the island, while the western third is occupied by the state of Haiti. The Dominican Republic should not be confused with the small Caribbean island of Dominica.

  • Continent/Region: North America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Santo Domingo
  • Currency: Dominican Peso (DOP)

Democratic Republic of the Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo, not to be confused with the Republic of the Congo, is a country in Central Africa. The approximately 80 million residents can be divided into more than 200 ethnic groups. During the Congo Wars there was an exodus from the countryside, which continues today; only 34 percent of the population live in cities. Exports have been increasing continuously since the beginning of the millennium.

  • Continent/Region: Central Africa
  • Languages: French, Ling├íla, Kikongo, Tschiluba, Swahili
  • Capital: Kinshasa
  • Currency: Franc congolais (CDF)


Djibouti is a republic in East Africa. Because of the generally dry climate and recurring droughts, agriculture is only possible to a very limited extent in Djibouti – the economy is mainly based on the service sector. The main exports are exports such as hides, skins and other livestock products.

  • Continent/Region: East Africa
  • Languages: French, Arabic, Somali
  • Capital: Djibouti
  • Currency: Djiboutian Franc (DJF)