Oceania Capitals

By | January 20, 2021
Country Capital with number of residents
Australia Canberra 365,000 (2011)
Fiji Suva 94,000 (on the island of Viti Levu, 2017)
Kiribati capital atoll Tarawa about 45,700 (2015)
Marshall Islands the atoll Majuro acts as the capital (economic and administrative center is the municipality of Delap-Uliga-Darrit on the same atoll)
Micronesia Federation Palikir (in the state of Pohnpei) 7,900 (2013)
Nauru There are no cities but the Yaren district is the administrative center
New Zealand Wellington 398,000 (2015)
Palau Ngerulmud 277 (in the state of Melekeok on Babeldaob) (2018)
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby 382 500 (with suburbs, 2020)
Solomon Islands Honiara 81 800 (2018)
Samoa Apia 37 391 (2016)
Tonga Nuku’alofa 23 221 (2016)
Tuvalu Funafuti 6 320 (2017)
Vanuatu Port Vila 51,400 (2016)

Australia: Canberra

Canberra has been the capital of Australia since 1927. The city was practically planned on the drawing board and is therefore a very young city. It is located on a 600 meter high highland in the middle of bushland. If you travel to the capital of Australia, you will only find the Australian Parliament in Canberra , but also many museums and attractions such as the National Museum of Australia . The Australian Prime Minister also has his seat here. Galleries, theaters, universities and much more have also found their place in Canberra.

Tuvalu: Funafuti atoll

The capital is the Funafuti atoll .

Vanuatu: Port Vila

The capital of the country is called Port Vila . It is located on the island of Éfaté, which is the third largest island in the country with 915 square kilometers. Port Vila is the country’s economic center. Many cruise ships from Australia land here. In addition to the port, there is also an airport that is important for the country. Around 50,000 people live in the capital.