Countries in Australia and Oceania

By | February 15, 2021

Oceania is a continent consisting of Australia, New Zealand, eastern New Guinea and islands and archipelagos in the Pacific Ocean with the exception of islands along the coasts of Asia and the Americas. Oceania’s islands are divided into Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.

Oceania is the smallest continent on the surface. Australia’s relationship to the concept of Oceania has not always been entirely clear. In the past, it was common for Oceania to refer only to the islands of the Pacific Ocean, and to use the term “Australia and Oceania” or “Australia with Oceania” as a term for the whole area, but today Australia is considered part of Oceania. Sometimes the whole of Oceania is carelessly called Australia, and then separates the continent and the state of Australia.

Area: 9,008,458 kmĀ²
Population: 32,000,000
States: 14
Countries: 27

Regions in Oceania

Countries in Oceania

Fiji Melanesian Countries
Kiribati Micronesian Countries
Marshall Islands Micronesian Countries
Micronesia Micronesian Countries
Nauru Micronesian Countries
New Zealand Polynesian Countries
Palau Micronesian Countries
Papua New Guinea Melanesian Countries
Samoa Polynesian Countries
Solomon Islands Melanesian Countries
Tonga Polynesian Countries
Tuvalu Polynesian Countries
Vanuatu Melanesian Countries

Where isĀ Oceania Located?

Oceania Location