South Europe Countries

By | February 15, 2021

Definition of South Europe

Southern Europe is a collective name for the states of Andorra, Greece, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Portugal, San Marino, Spain and the Vatican City (as well as Gibraltar).

In a broader sense, the term of Southern Europe also includes countries in Southeast Europe, in particular the Mediterranean countries Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro and Slovenia.

The Alpine arc is often mentioned as the border between southern Europe and central Europe, according to which southern Switzerland would also be included in southern Europe. The climatic limit is clearly noticeable at the Alpine crossings.

Countries in Southern Europe

  • Andorra
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Spain
  • Vatican City