North Europe Countries

By | February 15, 2021

Definition of Northern Europe

Northern Europe is a comprehensive term for all northern European countries. This includes Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Denmark and Finland, often also the Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, the north of European Russia and the northern part of Great Britain. In the broadest sense, Ireland, the French territories north of the Seine, the north of Belgium, the Netherlands and the coastal areas of northern Germany and Poland can also be seen as part of Northern Europe. Colloquially in Germany the term “Northern Europe” mostly refers to the Nordic countries.

Northern Europe can be divided as follows:

  • Scandinavia with Norway, Sweden and Denmark (excluding the Faroe Islands and Greenland).
    The Nordic countries belonging to Europe, by which the Scandinavian countries as well as Faroe Islands, Finland and Iceland are meant. Greenland is part of the Nordic countries, but not part of Europe.
  • Baltic states with Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.
  • Northeast Europe with Northwest Russia.
  • The term North West Europe is rarely used in the German language and includes the United Kingdom and Ireland, sometimes also Brittany, Normandy, northern Belgium and the Netherlands. In Germany, however, all of these countries are generally seen as part of Western Europe.

Within the EU, Denmark, Finland, Belgium, the Netherlands and Sweden are included in the so-called northern group.

According to the UN division, the geographic region of Northern Europe includes Åland, the Channel Islands, Denmark, Estonia, the Faroe Islands, Finland, Guernsey, Iceland, Ireland, the Isle of Man, Jersey, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Countries in Northern Europe

  • Åland
  • Channel Islands
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • Guernsey
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Jersey
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Norway
  • Svalbard
  • Jan Mayen
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom