Caribbean Countries and Regions

By | February 15, 2021

The Caribbean is called the Desert Chain, which separates the Atlantic Ocean from the Caribbean Sea, and is divided into the Lesser Antilles and the Bahamas. Bermuda is often included in the Caribbean. The area got its name when Christopher Columbus in 1492 began his first voyage across the Atlantic. Columbus, with the ship Santa Maria, along with two other ships searched the sea route to India. They knew the land by road and knew that there were seas off India, but they did not know how to get there by sea. When Columbus arrived in the Caribbean, he was convinced that he had come to India. Hence the name Caribbean.

Surface: 4 km²
Population: 37.5 million

The countries have large trade deficits, high unemployment and are very sensitive to the economy. Locally, tourism, sometimes in combination with banking and duty-free trade, has led to economic prosperity. The desert chain has a colonial past and is in part still associated with France, the Netherlands, Great Britain and the United States. The Caribbean is also known as the Caribbean.

Caribbean countries

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cuba
  • Curaçao
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • Montserrat
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Barthélemy
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • St. Maarten
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • US Virgin Islands

Caribbean Location