Central Asia Countries

By | February 15, 2021

Central Asia is a summary term for the greater region in the center of the continent of Asia. This includes all states or regions that have no access to the ocean, or the regions in the interior of Asia whose rivers do not drain into an ocean. According to UNESCO, these are the young states of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Mongolia. About the regions subsumed under Central Asia, however, there is still an intense debate among spatial and social scientists, which has led to Iran, all of Afghanistan as well as the NWFP region and the Panjab region in Pakistan and India now counting among the states of South Asia will. This assessment corresponds to the representation of the UN, which does not include Mongolia or the states west of the Caspian Sea as Central Asia.

In the past, Central Asia was referred to as the country of the Tatars due to the Turkish population, as Bukhara due to the political dominance of the Tajik population, or as Turkestan in the course of the Russian colonization, whereby a distinction was made between West and East Turkestan, and North and South Turkestan. In some cases, South Turkestan, Afghanistan, as well as Mongolia and the Gobi Desert (Inner Mongolia) in the east are included in Central Asia. Geographically, southern Russia, which borders Kazakhstan, would also be part of it.

Here on Countryaah, the Central Asia consists of the following 5 countries:

  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

Where is Central Asia Located?

Central Asia Location