Countries Beginning with N

There are eight countries in the world whose names start with the letter “N.”

1. Namibia

Namibia is a country in southern Africa. During the time as a German colony from 1884 to 1915, German was the only official language in German South West Africa, as Namibia was then called. About 20,000 Namibians speak German as their mother tongue and German is also well represented in the education system and the media. Numerous shop displays, websites, menus, advertising signs, company and business names are in German.

  • Continent/Region: Southern Africa
  • Languages: English, German, Afrikaans, OshiWambo
  • Capital: Windhoek
  • Currency: Namibia Dollar (NAD)

2. Nepal

Nepal is a landlocked country in South Asia. The country is a subsistence economy and one of the poorest countries in the world. In the north and east lies a large part of the Himalayan Mountains, including Mount Everest, the summit of which is the highest point on earth at 8848 meters, and seven more of the ten highest mountains on earth.

  • Continent/Region: South Asia
  • Language: Nepali
  • Capital: Kathmandu
  • Currency: Nepalese rupee (NPR)

3. New Zealand

New Zealand is a geographically isolated island state in the southern Pacific, made famous by the “Lord of the Rings” films. It consists of a north and a south island as well as numerous smaller islands. New Zealand’s currency – the New Zealand dollar – is also known as the kiwi dollar. The kiwi dollar is the second currency in the world to use plastic money after the Australian dollar; all bills are made of polypropylene.

  • Continent/Region: Polynesia
  • Language: English
  • Capital: Wellington
  • Currency: New Zealand Dollar (NZD)

4. Nicaragua

Nicaragua is the largest country in Central America. 6.2 million people live in an area of ​​almost 130,000 km². The state is an agricultural country and society is shaped by the tradition of agriculture and animal husbandry.

  • Continent/Region: North America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Managua
  • Currency: Gold Cordoba (NIO)

5. Netherlands

The Netherlands is a parliamentary monarchy and is one of the founding members of the European Economic Community (EEC) from 1957. Together with Belgium and Luxembourg, the Netherlands make up the Benelux countries. The Netherlands has a well-functioning, liberal economic system and high-tech agriculture.

  • Continent/Region: West Europe
  • Language: Dutch
  • Capital: Amsterdam
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)

6. Nigeria

Nigeria is a federal state in West Africa and probably the most populous country in Africa. Economic growth is very high even by West African standards; however, so does the corruption in the country. The flourishing areas include the metropolis of Lagos and more recently the capital Abuja. 3D printers represent interesting growing branches of industry.

  • Continent/Region: West Africa
  • Languages: English, French, Edo
  • Capital: Abuja
  • Currency: Naira (NGN)

7. North Macedonia

North Macedonia is a landlocked country in south-eastern Europe, not to be confused with the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, as a region in Greece is sometimes called. Membership in the EU has been discussed since 2005. In 2019 the name was changed in North Macedonia.

  • Continent/Region: East Europe
  • Languages: Macedonian, Albanian
  • Capital: Skopje
  • Currency: Denarius (MKD)

8. Norway

The Kingdom of Norway is a country in Northern Europe. Norway’s form of government corresponds to that of a constitutional monarchy with strong parliamentary features. The UN Human Development Index (HDI) has ranked Norway for many years as the most developed country in the world with the highest standard of living. It is also the most democratic state in the world according to the democracy index of the British magazine “The Economist”. In 2003 Norway was the first country to introduce a gender quota.

  • Continent/Region: North Europe
  • Language: Norwegian
  • Capital: Oslo
  • Currency: Norwegian Krone (NOK)