Southeast Asia Countries

By | February 15, 2021

Southeast Asia is part of the Asian continent and includes the countries that are east of India and south of China. The Southeast Asian region is defined by natural boundaries. The Southeast Asian mainland is delimited by mountain ranges from India and China to the north, while there are seas to the east, south and west.

The region is divided into the Southeast Asian mainland (rear Indian peninsula – which consists of the Malay and Indochinese peninsula) – and the island of Southeast Asia (Malay archipelago), Indonesia, the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, the Philippines, Brunei, Timor-Leste and parts of Malaysia. The Malay Archipelago extends to the coast of Australia.

  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • East Timor
  • Indonesia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

The Indochinese Peninsula is drained by the two major rivers Irrawaddy and Mekong. Southeast Asia borders the Indian Ocean (with the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal) to the west and south and the Pacific Ocean (with Polynesia and Melanesia) to the east. A m southern end of the Malay Peninsula runs the Strait of Malacca between Malaysia and Sumatra. As one of the world’s most important maritime trade routes, it connects the marginal seas of the Indian and Pacific Oceans. Parts west of the Wallace Line of the Australasian Mediterranean Sea are part of Southeast Asia.

The term Southeast Asia refers to the location between South Asia and East Asia. He was the extremely heterogeneous region under the Second n World War it attributed from the outside were occupied when large parts of the region by Japanese troops and the Western Allies n this term when planning the reconquest used.

The cultures of different n countries of Southeast Asia are influenced by both India and China In addition, there live large communities of overseas Chinese. With Indonesia, the most populous Muslim country in the world is located in the region, as well as very prominent Buddhist countries with Thailand, Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. There are also significant Christian, Hindu and animist communities.