Countries Beginning with C

By | February 15, 2021


The People’s Republic of China is in the midst of rapid economic change with far-reaching social upheavals. The country is Germany’s most important economic partner in Asia. China is considered to be the second largest economy in the world and holds the world’s highest foreign exchange reserves. Within the country, however, there are great differences between urban and rural, rich and poor.

  • Continent/Region: East Asia
  • Language: Chinese
  • Capital: Beijing
  • Currency: Renminbi Yuan (CNY)


Chile is not only one of the countries with the longest democratic tradition, it is also one of the most successful economic nations in Latin America. The country’s economic strength lies primarily in mining. In addition, Chile has the largest copper deposit in the world.

  • Continent/Region: South America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Santiago
  • Currency: Chilean Peso (CLP)

Costa Rica

Costa Rica – the “rich coast” – is considered the Switzerland of Latin America and a model country in nature conservation. 4.9 million people live in the country without a military. Costa Rica is still strongly characterized by agriculture, but tourism still plays a major role. According to a study, the happiest people in the world live in Costa Rica.

  • Continent/Region: North America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: San Jose
  • Currency: Costa Rica Colon (CRC)


The economy of the south-eastern state of Cambodia has seen double-digit growth in recent years; Foreign direct investors attracted. However, the country is still suffering from the aftermath of Pol Pot’s reign of terror by the Khmer Rouge. By 1978, two million people had been killed by the government. The Khmer Rouge tribunal is still trying to come to terms with the crimes against humanity.

  • Continent/Region: Southeast Asia
  • Language: Khmer language
  • Capital: Phnom Penh
  • Currency: Riel (CHR)


Cameroon is a country in central Africa. According to popular belief, Cameroon is ethnically divided into 286 different ethnic and language groups. The largest group are the Bantu peoples. Despite compulsory schooling, the proportion of illiterate people is still over 25 percent.

  • Continent/Region: Central Africa
  • Languages: English France
  • Capital: Yaounde
  • Currency: CFA Franc (Equatorial) (XAF)


Canada is a North American state. The only land border is with the United States in the south and northwest. Canada is one of the wealthiest countries in the world. The share of primary production, i.e. the primary economic sector, is above average, which is due to the wealth of natural resources. In addition, due to its large surpluses, the country is one of the largest suppliers of agricultural products.

  • Continent/Region: North America
  • Languages: English, France
  • Capital: Ottawa
  • Currency: Canadian dollar (CAD)

Cape Verde

Cape Verde is an African island state, consisting of the Cape Verde Islands with nine inhabited islands in the central Atlantic, 570 kilometers off the west coast of Africa. Despite the greatest challenges in the electricity sector, the island state is pursuing ambitious goals: In the past few years, the share of renewable energies in the electricity mix has risen to almost a quarter, mainly thanks to wind and solar power.

  • Continent/Region: West Africa
  • Language: Portuguese
  • Capital: Praia
  • Currency: Cape Verde Escudo (CVE)


The state of Colombia, located in the northern part of South America, is considered to be the shooting star of the region in terms of economy and export. Like most of the neighboring countries, Colombia’s economy is characterized by the extraction of raw materials for export and a pronounced agricultural sector. Important export products today are coal, flowers, petroleum and vegetable oil as well as gold.

  • Continent/Region: South America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Bogota
  • Currency: Colombian Peso (COP)


The Comoros form a federal island state in the Indian Ocean at the northern exit of the Mozambique Strait between Mozambique and Madagascar. They comprise three of the four main islands of the Comoros Archipelago. Agriculture as well as fishing, hunting and forestry form the livelihoods of the majority of the population.

  • Continent/Region: East Africa
  • Languages: French, Arabic, Comorian
  • Capital: Moroni
  • Currency: Comoros Franc (KMF)


The Republic of the Congo is a country in central Africa. Its capital is Brazzaville; therefore the country is also called Congo-Brazzaville as a demarcation to the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The country is rich in oil, but the Republic of the Congo is one of the poorest countries in the world.

  • Continent/Region: Central Africa
  • Languages: French, Lingála, Kituba
  • Capital: Brazzaville
  • Currency: CFA Franc (Equatorial) (XAF)


More than 1,000 islands, almost 6,000 kilometers of coastline on the Adriatic, Mediterranean climate and a multitude of architectural and cultural highlights: it is understandable that Croatia is one of the most popular holiday destinations for Germans. On July 1, 2013, Croatia became the 28th member of the European Union. The economic situation in Croatia is still tense, but the forecasts suggest slight growth.

  • Continent/Region: East Europe
  • Language: Croatian
  • Capital: Zagreb
  • Currency: Kuna (HRK)


Cuba’s state socialist economy has been going through a deep crisis since the 1990s. The pillars of the economy are not the traditional export products of sugar and tobacco, but tourism, international transfers and the export of medical services. The Raúl Castro government has embarked on a hesitant economic reform process. In 2015, the first talks took place to ease the US economic sanctions against Cuba.

  • Continent/Region: North America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Havana
  • Currency: Cuban Peso (CUP)

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe. In terms of its economic strength, the Czech Republic is a very highly developed industrial state – according to the World Bank, it ranks 31st among the richest countries in the world – and one of the largest economies in the former Eastern Bloc. The main branches of the economy in the Czech Republic are industry and wholesale and retail. The Republic of the EU joined the EU on May 1, 2004 – the introduction of the euro is currently not expected.

  • Continent/Region: East Europe
  • Language: Czech
  • Capital: Prague
  • Currency: Czech crown (CZK)


The Republic of Cyprus is an island nation in the eastern Mediterranean. The Republic of Cyprus became a member of the European Union (EU) on May 1st, 2004. Since it can only exercise its jurisdiction in the southern part of its recognized national territory, only this is in fact part of the EU. The euro has been used in Cyprus since 2008.

  • Continent/Region: East Europe
  • Language: Greek
  • Capital: Nicosia (Lefkosia / Lefkosa)
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)