Countries Beginning with M

By | February 15, 2021


With an area of ​​587,295 square kilometers, Madagascar is the second largest island nation in the world after Indonesia. Due to its long geographical isolation, Madagascar is home to unique fauna and flora. Animals like lemurs and tenreks can only be found on this island in the wild.

  • Continent/Region: East Africa
  • Languages: French, Malagasy
  • Capital: Antananarivo
  • Currency: Madagascar Ariary (MGA)


Malawi is a landlocked country in Southeast Africa and a pronounced agricultural country. The most important crops are corn, tobacco, tea and sugar. The tobacco plantations are almost exclusively privately owned by local residents. The workers continue to use carts of oxen, horses or tractors.

  • Continent/Region: East Africa
  • Languages: English, Chichewa
  • Capital: Lilongwe
  • Currency: Malawi Kwacha (MWK)


Malaysia is a state in Southeast Asia. Malaysia is rich in mineral resources and raw materials such as tin, petroleum and palm oil. Malaysia is also home to the automobile manufacturers Perodua and Proton as well as the oil multinational Petronas. Malaysia has been an up-and-coming emerging country with great potential since the 1990s.

  • Continent/Region: Southeast Asia
  • Language: Malaysian
  • Capital: Kuala Lumpur
  • Currency: Malaysian Ringgit (MYR)


Mali is a landlocked country in West Africa that has long been regarded as Africa’s democratic hope. The military coup in early 2012 and the war in northern Mali, however, plunged the country into a serious crisis. Mali is a developing country whose economy is mainly based on agriculture, mining and the export of raw materials.

  • Continent/Region: West Africa
  • Language: French
  • Capital: Bamako
  • Currency: CFA Franc (West) (XOF)


The Republic of Malta is a southern European island state in the Mediterranean. With 316 square kilometers and around 420,000 residents, the country is the smallest of all EU member states. The largest employer in the country are the Malta Drydocks, the second largest shipyard in Europe.

  • Continent/Region: South Europe
  • Languages: English, Maltese
  • Capital: Valletta
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)


The Kingdom of Morocco is a state in northwestern Africa. It is separated from the European continent by the Strait of Gibraltar. Morocco is on the way from an agricultural country to a service and industrial society. The focus here is primarily on private educational institutions, including through international cooperation.

  • Continent/Region: North Africa
  • Language: Arabic
  • Capital: Rabat
  • Currency: Moroccan Dirham (MAD)


The Islamic Republic of Mauritania is a former French colony in West Africa, located on the Atlantic Ocean and borders the states of Algeria, Mali and Senegal as well as the territory of the Western Sahara (Democratic Arab Republic of the Sahara). The country is located on the western edge of the Sahara and is one of the poorest countries in the world. Mauritania suffers from rural exodus, inadequate infrastructure in the cities, poor transport conditions and an uncertain political situation that prevents investments from abroad. The basic industries of Mauritania are agriculture, the fishing sector and ore mining.

  • Continent/Region: West Africa
  • Language: Arabic
  • Capital: Nouakchott
  • Currency: Ouguiya (MRO)


Mauritius is an island nation in the southwest of the Indian Ocean. The stable political situation on the island after independence attracted large numbers of foreign investors, which brought Mauritius one of the highest per capita incomes in Africa. The main economic factor on the island is tourism.

  • Continent/Region: East Africa
  • Languages: French, Morisyen
  • Capital: Port Louis
  • Currency: Mauritius rupee (MUR)


Mexico is a federal republic in North America, whose economy has already taken the most important steps towards a world-market-integrated and export-oriented economic and development policy. Mexico’s energy generation is still up to 70 percent dependent on crude oil.

  • Continent/Region: North America
  • Language: Spanish
  • Capital: Mexico City (Ciudad de Mexico)
  • Currency: Mexican Peso (MXN)


Mongolia, located between Central, North and East Asia, is the second largest landlocked country in the world after Kazakhstan. Mongolia’s economy is predominantly agricultural. In addition to an extremely high malnutrition rate among the population, the high child mortality rate is a problem for the Mongolian population.

  • Continent/Region: East Asia
  • Languages: Kazakh, Mongolian, Tuvinian
  • Capital: Ulaanbaatar
  • Currency: Tugrik (MNT)


Montenegro is a republic on the southeastern Adriatic coast in southeastern Europe. After having been part of Yugoslavia for almost 90 years, Montenegro became independent again on June 3, 2006. Montenegro has been trying to join the European Union since independence.

  • Continent/Region: East Europe
  • Languages: Serbian, Croatian, Albanian, Bosnian, Montenegrin
  • Capital: Podgorica
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)


Mozambique is a country in Southeast Africa. Although over 80 percent of the workforce is employed in agriculture, they only produce 24 percent of the gross domestic product. The main agricultural products are cashew nuts, sugar cane, cotton and tea. Bananas, tobacco, citrus fruits, sisal and oil palms are also grown.

  • Continent/Region: East Africa
  • Language: Portuguese
  • Capital: Maputo
  • Currency: Metical (MZN)


Burma, Burma, Union Myanmar – the Southeast Asian country on the Indian Ocean is named differently. In the German-speaking area, the name Burma was common until the end of the 80s, in English the former British colony was called Burma. Since June 1989 the official name has been Union Myanmar – a synonym for Burma in the Burmese language.

  • Continent/Region: Southeast Asia
  • Language: Burmese
  • Capital: Rangoon (Yangon)
  • Currency: Kyat (MMK)