European Union Countries List

By | February 15, 2021

In the 19th century, the Industrial Revolution that began in England and spanned the entire continent made Europe the leading economic power. Later brought various international institutions and organizations, such as the EFTA (European Free Trade Association) and the European Community – today’s EU- a surge in growth that lasted in many parts of Europe into the 1970’s and partly into the 1980’s. The supply of the population of Europe could also be further expanded by reducing trade restrictions. Eastern Europe is currently experiencing an economic boom and is catching up with the Western European countries. The growth is particularly high at the moment [2006] in the EU countries Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania and Slovakia, with some double-digit growth rates.

With the Maastricht Treaty, 12 EU states initially formed a monetary union from 1999. From January 1st, 2002 euro banknotes and coins were introduced. Today the euro is legal tender in 18 EU countries and six other European countries.

Today Europe is a prosperous continent with large industrial metropolises, profitable agriculture and a growing service sector. Nevertheless, unemployment has been a widespread problem in many European countries since the 1970’s. Industry and services are mainly concentrated in the metropolitan areas. In most European countries, the problem is no longer the lack of food, but overproduction and obesity. The main export goods are machines, steel, computer supplies and cars. Imported goods include cocoa, tea, rubber, crude oil, natural gas and ores.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden