South Asia Countries

By | February 15, 2021

South Asia is the southern part of the Asia continent. It is separated from the rest of Asia in the north and north-west by the Hindu Kush, in the north-east and east by the Karakoram and Himalayas. India is the largest in South Asia. The island of Sri Lanka and the archipelago of the Maldives are also included in South Asia.

In the past, the region was also known as the Indian Ocean. There is extensive overlap with the term Middle East.

25 percent of the world’s population live in South Asia, more than 1.3 billion of them in India alone.

Definition of South Asia

A large part of South Asia is also known as the Indian subcontinent, as it represents its own tectonic plate. The area is delimited:

  • from the Himalayas in the north against Tibet (East Asia) and the Pamir against Central Asia,
  • the mountains of Baluchistan in the west to Asia Minor,
  • from Patkaiand Arakan-Joma Mountains in the east towards Southeast Asia.
  • to the south it is enclosed by the Indian Ocean, with the Arabian Sea to the west and the Bay of Bengal to the east of the Indian peninsula.

Countries in Southern Asia

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka